Things British People Say [with translations]

Six months ago, I created this blog. Initially, the aim was to use the domain as a platform for connecting and communicating with those back home.

Yesterday, I skimmed the geographic stats.

This is a rarity, as I don’t write for the sake of recognition or in an attempt to “go viral.” Frankly, the phrase leaves a rather bitter taste in my mouth. I’ve been writing for most of my short life, and generally, my work is quite personal. What I post online for the world to see is just a brief, sarcastic fraction; a taste of many words I’ve penned whilst living abroad.

USA. UK. Philippines. Hungary.  Miscellaneous countries throughout Europe.

In this innocent skim of the numbers, I came to find that my readers across the pond rival those in the USA.  On one hand, this is slightly alarming, because this blog is essentially the equivalent of one massive sub-tweet. But, it was also meaningful. I never anticipated these works to appeal to the Brits.

I wouldn’t call myself the betting type of girl…I much prefer security…in life, in love, in friendships, and everything in between. But with this newly found knowledge, I raise you all this:

If you guess where some of these quotes originated, the next brew is on me.

All in good humor, of course.

Game on.

“Nice weather today!”

Translation: It’s partly cloudy with a chance of rain. Consider packing an umbrella.

 

“Fit”

Translation: beautiful (if you’re speaking to a gentleman) // HOT (everyone else)

 

“You alright?”

Translation: How are you? // What’s up?

A standard greeting in the UK, not to be confused with legitimate concern….

 

“I’m just trying to make the most of my 3rd year.”

Translation: I’ve got a thing for freshmen girls, and I’ve come too far in this game to admit to it now.

 

“Cheers mate!”

Translation: Thanks, my friend!

 

“To be fair”

Translation: to be honest, to be frank

Often used to justify a statement that probably [definitely] is unnecessary. As you can probably imagine, I have come to adopt this phrase overtime.

 

“Housemates// Flatmates”

Translation: roommates.

When used in a sentence:

“You can tell me anything, I won’t tell my housemates.”

Translation: I’m going to tell my housemates everything you say… verbatim. No where is safe.

 

“….cheeky Nandos?”

Translation: A rather ambiguous offer to dine at a grilled chicken, chain restaurant.

 

“FFS: For F#$%S Sake”

Translation: FML, OMG

 

“….what’s the que like?”

Translation: Is there a line or a waiting period?

Synonym: Am I willing to wait to get into this club?

 

“Safe.”

Translation: cool / sweet / alright / good deal

 

“I quite fancy him.”

Translation: I’ve had too many vodka doubles, and I am currently conducting a deep creep on his instagram account. For the love of allthings good, please don’t let me accidentally like a post from 2012.

 

“Ting.

Translation: It’s my understanding this is South London lingo…..but I actually, still, have no clue what it actually means.

When used in a sentence:

“That’s why you’re the tinggggg, Shelbs.”

Translation: Again, I  honestly couldn’t tell yah. I like to think it’s a compliment, but it could go both ways.

 

“When am I going to get a shoutout on the blog? Waiting for my shoutout.”

Translation: @Elijah_King

 

 

 

I’ll be the first to admit: I’m notorious for talking too much.

Not sure if I understand what you’ve just said? It’s an easy code to crack.

I’ll be silent. 😉 

xx,

Shelbs

One thought on “Things British People Say [with translations]

Leave a Reply

